NSF REU | Gallery | Sponsors | Dr. Devesh Ranjan | GATECH Mechanical Engineering | Webmaster

News Archives

News from Texas A&M

2013 Highlights

November 24-26: Team STAML presented research findings at the 66th annual meeting of the APS division of Fluid Dynamics at Pittsburgh. Four talks and a poster were presented on mixing research.

Oct 3: Congratulations to Sandeep Pidaparti, who defended his MS thesis titled "A computational study on the leakage of supercritical carbon dioxide through labyrinth seals".

August 28: Congratulations to Dr. Ranjan for his appointment as the Morris E. Foster faculty fellow in Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M.

July 18-20: Dr. Ranjan gave an invited seminar at the Fluid Days event, 2013 in Bangalore, India.

July 14-19: Team STAML presented the shock-tube research at the 29th international symposium on shock waves (ISSW) at Madison. Jacob McFarland and Skylar Creel talked about the experimental observations obtained using the shock-tube.

June 24: Congratulations to Tejasvi Khambhampati, who defended his MS thesis titled "A comparative study between Newtonian and non-Newtonian models in a stenosed Carotid artery".

June 11: Jacob McFarland defended his PhD dissertation titled "Experimental and computational study of the inclined interface Richtmyer-Meshkov instability". Congratulations Jacob for being the first PhD from STAML!!

May 29: Dr. Henry Curran, director of the combustion chemistry center at National University of Ireland, Galway visited STAML.

April 29: Prof. Ronald Adrian of Arizona State university, pioneer in the field of Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV), was given a tour of STAML.

April 28: Prof. John Georgiadis of UIUC, expert in the field of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), was given a tour of STAML.

March 5: The graduate review committee was given a tour of STAML today. Honorable members of the committee, Dr. Jay Gore of Purdue University, Dr. Paul Neitzel from Georgia Tech, Dr. Kon-Well Wang from University of Michigan and Dr. Lau, Graduate program director for Mechanical Engineering, TAMU, were given a demonstration of the shock tube experiment.

February 22: Dr. Sung-Won Moon from Intel Inc. visited the lab today. He also presented a seminar for the Mechanical Engineering seminar series for those interested.

January 11: Dr. Ranjan is awarded the NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award for his five year project, “Transition, Turbulence and Mixing in Shock-Accelerated Variable Density Flows at Extreme Conditions.”

January 10: Dr. Devesh Ranjan wins the prestigious AFOSR Young Investigator award! Details of the award can be found here.

2012 Highlights

December 13: Dr. Lagoudas (Sr. Associate Dean of Research at TAMU) visited STAML.

December 6: Congratulations to Bryce Matsuo for defending his masters’ thesis on supercritical heat exchanger studies using numerical and experimental techniques.

November 28: Dr. Subbarayan from Purdue University visited the lab today.

November 18-20: Team STAML presents the research progress at the 65th annual meeting of APS-DFD in San Diego. Six papers in all were presented on the different projects presently underway.

November 18-20: Chris McDonald gets first prize for presenting “Experimental investigation of Richtmyer-Meshkov instability on inclined interface” in the student poster competition at APS.

November 9: Dr. Malcolm Andrews from the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) visited the lab.

November 8: Dr. Robert Handler from Mechanical Engineering visited the lab.

September 6: Mr. Adam Martin and Ms. Beth Placette received their MS, while Mr. Sterling Debner received his BS in Mechanical Engineering in the academic convocation held today.

August: Dr. K.R. Sreenivasan, member of the esteemed US National academy of Engineering and US National academy of sciences, visited STAML.

July: Bryce Matsuo presented updates on supercritical carbon dioxide at ASME.

July: Bhanesh Akula and Jacob McFarland presented their research on Rayleigh-Taylor and Richtmyer-Meshkov instabilities at IWPCTM13.

July 18: Dr. Karen Vierow from Nuclear Engineering and Dr. J.N. Reddy from Mechanical Engineering visited our lab today and were given a tour of our facilities.

March: Our new lab space at the University Services Building (USB) is finally ready for occupation. Photos of the space will be uploaded after facility installation.

February: Team STAML’s research on turbulent RT mixing at large and small Atwood numbers is featured in the annual publication of the SSAA magazine, 2011 (page 39). Dr. Ranjan is featured in the alumni list of SSAA program in the annual SSAA magazine (page 43).

2011 Highlights

December: Dr. Ranjan attended the Stewardship Science Academic Alliances (SSAA) annual program symposium hosted by the Carnegie Institution of Washington. Details of the program can be found here.

2010 Highlights

December: Congratulations to Roma Fatima for completing and graduating MS!

August: Congratulations to Sarat Kuchibhatla for being the first student to graduate (MS) from STAML!

July 12-17: Dr. Malcolm Andrews presented the findings of the Dr. Ranjan's team in the 12th International Workshop on the Physics of Compressible Turbulent Mixing (IWPCTM12) at Moscow, Russia. The first presentation titled "Velocity, density and mixing growth rate measurements in Rayleigh-Taylor mixing layers with and without shear" (pdf) by Akula et al. detailed the research being performed at the Gas-channel facility. The second presentation titled "Rayleigh-Taylor experiments for low Atwood numbers with Multimodal initial conditions" (pdf) by Kuchibhatla et al. was also presented.

June: Jacob McFarland has been awarded the fellowship for graduate research. This is a prestigious fellowship to encourage graduate research in challenging fields of technology, and it includes the opportunity to work at the esteemed Lawrence Livermore National Labs (LLNL), California during the summer of 2010.

2009 Highlights

November 22-24: Roma Fatima presented the presentation titled "Experimental and Numerical Investigation of supercritical carbon dioxide compact Heat exchanger" by Fatima et al. at the 62nd Annual meeting of the Division of Fluid Dynamics (DFD) of the American Physical Society (APS) on the collaborative research being carried out by the TAMU STL group and the University of Wisconsin's STL group.

September: Peter Kyle Koppenberger was recognized as the Undergraduate Research Scholar of the year 2009-2010 by the Texas A&M University system. This is in recognition of his contribution towards commendable academic research as an undergraduate student in the Mechanical Engineering Department.

July 13: Dr. Devesh Ranjan was awarded the SLATE award for Teaching Excellency in Mechanical Engineering, by the Texas A&M System. The award was based on the rankings from students based on different aspects of class room teaching.